Dev Retro 2022 (Journey I begin with)

In this blog I will share my 2022 web development journey with everyone and will also try to keep it as small as possible.

Spoilers alert: I have not achieved anything yet, But i still consider this a part of my struggle.

Jan-Feb 2022 (Did absolutely nothing)

I started my year without any resolution because I actually thoughted that the classes will be conducted online bases again and I will just have to join the meeting and do DSA practice side-by-side. But to my surprise the college actually started offline.

Classes were not so bad but still was tiresome for me, as I was actually sitting straight for longer hours now. Entire month of Feb ended trying to understand, whom should i approach or ask about development and internship. In the end, there was literally no one, and if there were some they already graduated from college during lockdown.

Feb-March 2022 (was confused, about where to start)

Firstly I thought should I go for android dev or web dev, so I asked one of my neighbour who had just completed his B-tech and was going for a job. He told me that, "It doesn't matter just start already but do also remember that If you try to learn anything go for full-stack as it was more in demand than a person who just only knows either a frontend or backend".

I was having a little bit of knowledge of HTML and CSS so i decided to go with web development also students around me were doing web development so it becomes more convenient for me as if i want to work on a project I can ask any one of them to join with me if they are interested. So for the rest of the month I started revising the basics again.

April-June 2022 (Intro to web dev)

My search of web development course on youtube lead to me in lots of tutorials and courses and I was also following everyone of them (It was all excitement to learn new things). After that I kept learning from them and realised something was wrong, but never analised it what it was ?

Few weeks later our college held a website making competition in which every person particiated from all the courses and when i went there and started making a website I realised what the problem was. I NEVER WORKED ON ANY PROJECTS!!!.

After realising this mistake I was able to make a project somehow and it even looked decent. When I came back home the first thing I did was, I bought a Udemy course for web development by Angela Yu.

July-September (Open source)

While I was searching internet for what else I can do if I will be able to become a good developer. I got to know about open source from Kunal Kushwaha youtube channel and about remote jobs. I was not much interested in remote jobs but open source actually excited me a lot. Communities that holds different events and how I can I be a part of them. Before I was going to apply for one of the communites. I got a big-bang from my college.

We had our summer training program in which every student have to participate and learn web development (MERN stack) in 6 weeks. Sounded nice and it was paid training. Yes, we have to pay them a amount of Rs.3000 to learn MERN stack from them and we will get a certificate. We all talk to our class mentors and didn't listened to us at all. I told my parents the same thing but reaction was, "Atleast you will be going out of the house, instead of just lying around in your laptop". BTW entire program was a scam. If your college tells you the same you can totally skip it and learn from online courses like udemy or coursera where after completion of the course you will get a certificate and you can show them this certificate as a training.

October-Novermber (Summer and minor project)

The entire internship was a scam just to show some pics on Linkedin and Twitter that "Our college students did MERN stack program and now they will get good jobs and internships. It happened because of our innovative idea only" and so so. Even though the internship was for 6 weeks it only happened for 15 days. And we very well know that how much development can be done in 15 days.

We also had to submit a project as summer training. So, I submitted one of the project I created using udemy course. Even though It was created using EJS templating system, literally no one cared. I also realised one thing in middle of all his that the Udemy course taught by Angela was all good and nice but it was way outdated. But I will not say it was waste of time because it got me started in web development alteast. Than I bought many other udemy courses, not for certification but for knowledge. One was from Colt steele for modern javascript and some projects and other from Maximilian Schwarzmüller for react.js. But I also end up buying Maximilian Schwarzmüller MERN stack course (NOTE: only buy one of the courses from Maximilian Schwarzmüller as both covers the entire topics of how to connect to backend and work with react).

During this time I participated in HactoberFest for making some good PR but none of them get selected I don't know why. They just reviewed my code gave me some suggestions. I implemented those suggestions and some I was not able to as their project was on Typescript and I was not so familiar with it. But they didn't replied me anything.

December (My First Full stack project without react though)

After seeing my summer project I realised that I can revamped my entire frontend of the summer project using tailwindcss instead of bootstrap and it will also look more impacting for portfolio, I also added session and authorization to my project and it was looking very nice and functional and side by side I was also making the same project with React.js from scratch (I have made a resposive navbar with dark-mode and used framer-motion for side-bar animation till now).

Internal assessment for my project. I was very excited and proud to show my project and when I presented it, our invigilator said that the same topic of "Blogging website" is taken by some other student. And I replied that but the content are entirely different and that student created his project on react and I created on EJS. So what's the problem? She replied the topic itself is the problem just change the name of the project to something like twiiter and I will accept you project. That other kid literally downloaded that project from github and is showing to the invigilator. Meanwhile me who burned my midnight oil to work on project was not even considered. I got angry, came back home and started playing games the entire night.

Ending

I realied that there is nothing wrong in making progress in your life and it is also obvious that you will face a lot of failures but not getting a little recognition for your work is also very depressing. I am not gonna stop neither I will quit until I get what is mine and I will reach out to people who are also facing the same problem and maybe learn more from them. It's better to learn from other's mistake rather than making one yourself.

Thanking you so much for reading this post.